Managing the project team

Users and groups can be organised into a team on each project. Besides individual users and global groups a team can also consist of project-specific groups only visible on each project.

The project team can be managed by clicking Team in the project outliner.

To show all team members on a project, click All team members to the left.

Setting up the project team brings several benefits. While it provides a good overview of who is working on or will be working on a project it also filters the assignee drop downs by the users and the groups in the project team.

Adding a group to a team

You can add both existing global groups and new project-specific groups to the project team.

Adding an existing group

Click the Add group button in the Groups header to the left and select Add existing group to open the Add groups dialog. Select the groups and sub groups you want to add to the project team and click the Save button when you’re done.

Note

When displaying the list of members of a global group you won’t be able to manage its members as that is done from System settings ‣ Resources ‣ Users and Groups.

Creating and adding a project-specific group

To create a new project-specific group and add it to the project team, click the Add group button in the Groups header to the left and select Create project specific group. A new group will be instantly created.

Renaming a project-specific group

Each new group will have a default name. Click on the group name in the top to rename the group. The name is saved automatically when clicking outside the text field.

Creating a new project-specific sub group

If you would like to divide your group into smaller groups, click the Create sub group button. A new sub group will then instantly be created under the currently selected group.

Managing users in project-specific groups

See Managing users in groups as it works the same way.

Removing an existing or project-specific group from the project team

To remove a group, move your mouse over the group name in the list to the left and click the small arrow that appears to the right. Select Remove team group or Delete project specific group in the context menu to delete the group.

Adding or removing a single user as a team member

Not only groups can be added as available resources on a project. On any of the All team members and Ungrouped members pages you can add single users as team members by clicking the Add team members button.

To remove a team member from the list, select the member and click the Remove team members button.

Note

If you want to remove a user from the list that is added as a member of a team you have to remove the whole team in order to remove the user.

Did this answer your question?