🕑 Read time: 3 min | Article Quick Search

The Status permissions feature is designed to give the workspace administrators more flexibility over approval workflows and how statuses on a project can be updated. It introduces granular control within security roles to limit what status can be changed to another, reducing the risk of human error and increasing certainty around report accuracy.

See Status permissions in action.

Article Quick Search:


Current limitations

At this stage, we recommend trying Status permissions for testing purposes only, as the current beta version is still under development and may contain unexpected bugs or behaviors.

Please note: This feature is only available to our Studio Enterprise customers.

To join this beta, please contact our support team or fill out this form, and we will be happy to accommodate your request.


How to use Status permissions

Activating the Status permissions feature

The beta Status permissions feature can be activated by an Admin or a user role with Global permissions access to Manage settings.

Once the feature is turned on for your site, while in the testing phase, this tool, like all the other experimental features, can be found and enabled from the System Settings > Advanced > Experimental menu by ensuring that the Status permissions checkbox is toggled on.


Creating a Status permission

To show you how Status permissions can work in practice, we will give you a simple real-world example that can be used as a reference while creating your Status permissions.

In our example case, we would like to ensure that all the users in the VIP Artist roles in the Animation workflow would be unable to change any Task Status to “Client approved”.

Here are the steps to take:

1. Access the feature from System settings > Workflow > Schemas.

There you can set the Status permissions for all your workflow schemas individually.

2. Open the Animation schema with a single click.

This will take you to a page where you can see the new Permissions buttons that will enable you to modify Status permissions for any chosen Object in that schema.

3. Click the Task Permissions button shown in the picture above.

This will open an edit menu that enables you to manage Status permissions for Tasks in the Animation workflow.

4. Choose the user Role (using the dropdown menu) you want to be affected by the change (in this case - VIP Artist)

5. Toggle on the pencil icon to the left of the Client approved status.

This will open an edit menu where you can manage that specific status permission and choose which status(es) can be changed to “Client approved.”

6. Choose the None checkbox, and Save the setting.

Final outcome: VIP Artists (in the Animation workflow) can no longer change a Task from any status to “Client approved.”

Please note: After saving the settings, it may take a few minutes before the new Status permission is active.

Tip: If a role needs to create an object (for example, a Task or an Asset Version) - the object needs to have at least one status set.

Did this answer your question?