ftrack integration for cineSync 5 lets you quickly set up cineSync reviews using any of the versions (media) you track in the ftrack. And once the review is complete, you can quickly and easily publish all your notes and annotations back into ftrack.

To browse your ftrack instance for files, you can use either the on-screen playlist from the bottom left corner (this works with the ‘Web UI’ integration), or the Integration menu.

Whatever way you will decide to add the files via ftrack, you will first see a popup window asking for your ftrack Studio site name or URL.

Please note: To be able to log in, you need to be first logged in to your ftrack Studio account.

ftrack Studio ‘Integration’ menu

Under the ftrack Studio ‘Integration’ menu, you will find two separate ftrack Studio integrations: ‘Application UI’ and ‘Web UI’. They can be used interchangeably, but they work slightly differently.

Functionally, the main difference is that everything done in the Application UI is contained within cineSync and then exported/published to ftrack Studio at the end of the Review session, whereas actions in the Web UI are carried out directly against the versions in ftrack Studio.

  • Application UI

Browsing your ftrack media via the ‘Application UI’, on the Projects page, you'll see by default all your active projects.

You can list all the projects, active or not, via the drop-down by selecting 'All Projects'.

Clicking on the required project, you can either choose to see the Versions, the Reviews, or the Lists in that project.

To add Reviews, Lists, or Versions to your cineSync 5, simply toggle ‘Add to Review.’

Please note: Any added Version will be included directly in the Review session.

  • If you use hosted media, it will download into the session, and if you use local media, it will be just added from the local storage.

While double-clicking on the selected Version itself, you will see the information about that version (including the previous comments and the notes history).

Tip: Once the file is added to the review, you can also check its information and notes during the session using the ‘Info’ and ‘Feedback’ buttons, which are located at the transport bar.

Image: Example of the ‘Info’ dialog.

Image: Example of the ‘Feedback’ dialog.

  • Web UI

You can also access your ftrack media by browsing the Web UI.

This will take you to the web browser that allows you to browse between all the projects.

Choosing a specific project, you can see a list of all the versions, which you can then ‘Add to Playlist’ from the same window.

Please note: In this integration, there is no access to the ‘Reviews’ or ‘Lists’, but you can select any Version and add it to the playlist.

Like with the ‘Application UI’ integration, If you use hosted media, it will download into the session, and if you use local media, it will be just added to the local storage.

You will also get automatic access to the feedback section of all the files that have been added from ftrack.

In ‘Web UI’, this allows you to add comments directly to the Versions individually, while in the ‘Application UI’, there is a publishing process in the end.

Export

To see the completed review, just choose 'Export' from ftrack Studio -> ‘Application UI’ menu.

This provides you with a preview of all the notes that are going to be published to ftrack.

If you wish to edit or remove any annotated frames, select ‘Edit’.

You can also update the status by selecting the current status and then choosing the new status required.

Server Settings

To change any ftrack settings, select the ‘Server Settings’ from the ‘Integrations’ > ‘ftrack Studio’ menu.

Similar to ftrack Studio, you can set the number of entities per page that cineSync will return, allowing for quicker navigation.

The 'Component Search' can be set to include any local files that have been added to your ftrack instance.

You can also select either the high resolution (if available) or the default version when viewing the Web Review Component by enabling/disabling 'Hi-res Web Review Media' checkbox.

And as a recent addition, you will now find there are also several new security settings that will allow you to enable/disable Logging, set to auto-delete downloaded files, and activate the file-encrypting & watermarking settings.

Did this answer your question?