Version 4.2 of ftrack Studio introduces a quick and easy approach to private projects.

Private projects enable project creators to limit which users have access to a project. 

To create a private project in ftrack, first go to the Projects tab and create a new project. Enter a name for your project. To make the project private, toggle “Private access” to on.

If Private access is toggled on, then only the creator of that project can view its content. 

If the project creator wishes specific users to be able to view the content of the project and participate in it, they must add those users to the project.

When adding users to a project, the project creator must select their role. The roles available on the specific project are dependent on what user role(s) have been assigned to the user in the System settings.

The Project access view displays which users have access to the project:

When access to a project is no longer required for a user, it can be removed. Remove access with the “Remove user access” button found above the list of users or to the left of the user.

You can turn off private access at any time which will allow access for all users with roles valid on all open projects.
The "Project access" page is visible for projects with both private and open access. It can be used to grant or revoke user access to the project.
If a project has open access and the user in question has a role valid for all open projects, then you cannot remove their access.

Two new Project permissions were introduced in ftrack 4.2:

  • Manage user access to project: This role permission controls whether or not a user can give access to other users on a project.
  • Update project: This role permission controls whether or not a user can update a project.

NOTE: Please be aware that global API keys will not have access to private projects automatically. After creating a private project the API key must be awarded access to the project from system settings.
NOTE: Users cannot be granted access to private projects using roles with assignee type, such as the Restricted User role.

Did this answer your question?