Managing review sessions

Creating a new session

To create a new review session, move your mouse over the Client reviews menu item in the tree to the left on a project. Click the small arrow that appears to the right and select Client review under Create. An empty review session will be created ready to add content and collaborators to.

Each new session will have a default title and description. Click on the title or description to change them.

Collaborators can also be allowed to download the media from the review sessions. If enabled, collaborators can download both the compressed version of the media but also the original file that was uploaded if it is still available.

A session also has a schedule that determines when the session is accessible by collaborators. The defaults are the current time for Start and one week’s time for End. You can click on the dates to change the values.

Managing content

Content added to a review session will be presented on the timeline in the client review session.

There are two ways of adding content to a review session:

  • In the Versions spreadsheet, right click to open the context menu and select Client reviews ‣ Create from selection to add selected items to a new review session, or Client reviews ‣ Add selection to to add selected items to an existing review session.
  • Open the sidebar for a Version and then select More ‣ Add to under Client reviews to add the item to an existing review session.

When you are on the review session setup page, you can remove items by first selecting each item you would like to remove and then clicking Remove in the toolbar above the items.

The order items in a review session appear controls their order on the review session timeline. You can drag and drop items to reorder them. Click and hold down the mouse on an item and then drag it to its new position. Changes made to the order are saved automatically.


Currently only one item can be dragged at a time, though this will change in a future version.

Adding collaborators and sending invites

Added collaborators are listed in the right pane of the review session setup page. From there you can add, edit and remove collaborators.


A collaborator does not have to be a user in ftrack. They can be anyone who can receive an invitation by email. At present collaborators do not consume any ftrack licenses.

To add a new collaborator, click Add collaborator, enter their details and click Save. To remove a collaborator, click the trash can to the right of their name. To edit, click on the collaborator name and enter the updated details in the displayed fields.

In order for collaborators to access the review session they must use a special link. You can send an invite to each collaborator containing their unique link by clicking Send invites at the bottom of the right pane.


Emails sent to collaborators outside of ftrack will be sent with your company name as author instead of ftrack. Your company name can be set from System settings ‣ General settings ‣ Settings.

Starting a session

The review session will be open for collaborators to join between the scheduled times. If you would like to open the session for yourself click Open session in the top of the right pane.


This will also automatically add you as a collaborator.

Following up

Feedback left by the collaborators on the content can be retrieved at any time by clicking Generate report at the bottom of the right pane. Comments and annotations as well as status changes are included in the report which can be downloaded and opened as a PDF file via the Jobs menu in the top bar.

Transferring feedback from a review session

When you’ve got feedback from your clients that you want to share with the team you can transfer selected information from the review session to ftrack.

Navigate to your review session and click Transfer feedback to start configuring what information to transfer.

Selecting what to transfer

Next you need to select what feedback to transfer:

Select a status to update on the version or the task the version is related to.

Select notes to transfer from the review session. All annotations will be transferred along with their corresponding notes.

Write a new note and add it to the version. Everyone assigned to the task or version will be set as recipients on the note.


Statuses can be updated on either versions (default) or the related task. Go to System settings ‣ ftrackreview ‣ Review settings to change what status to update.

Setting selected items to Approved or Require changes

You can change the status of selected items based on the given invitee feedback. If any feedback is Require changes you can set all selected items to the selected status, and if all feedback on selected items is Approved you can set all to the selected status.


Once you’re done, click Start transfer to the right and ftrack will add notes and change statuses according to your configuration.

Notes transferred from a review session will keep the original date and name of the author, and also be marked as a note originally from a review session.


When someone comments on a clip or change status in a review session both e-mail and internal notifications will be triggered. Email notifications are always sent to external collaborators while internal ftrack users have the ability to decide if they want to receive them or not. Read more about "using notifications".

Deleting a session

To delete a review session, move your mouse over the menu item in the tree to the left. Click the small arrow that appears to the right of the name and select Delete.

Cloning review sessions

You can clone an existing client review session to create a new review session with the same description and collaborators.

To clone a review session, press the Clone session button in the top of the right pane, or by choosing the Clone menu option from the context menu in the project outliner.

Launching an Action

If you want to launch an external application from the review session management page, or do something else programmatically with the review session, you can launch an action by clicking the Actions button to the right.

Did this answer your question?