What is ftrack Review?

ftrack Review is a collaborative cloud-based application that helps content creators efficiently communicate with clients on a project via a web browser. Media is securely uploaded to the cloud for a review session. Clients then join a review session via a unique URL. They can provide feedback by annotating directly on to the media and writing comments which are pinned to the frame and timecode on which they’re made to keep communication in context. Say goodbye to endless email threads. All feedback is provided entirely inside ftrack Review. As all comments are in context, communication is efficient and confusion or misunderstanding are eliminated.

What does each workspace?

  • Unlimited projects
  • Unlimited reviews
  • Unlimited collaborators
  • 250 GB of cloud storage

What is a "collaborator"?

A collaborator is anyone who must view a review. So this can be a client who only has access to join a specific review to provide feedback. Collaborators can add comments and annotate media in review sessions that have been shared with them. An unlimited number of collaborators can be added to a review session for free.

What are the benefits of using ftrack Review?

  • Work on a wide range of media types, both video and image, including multi-page PDF
  • Improve communication on creative projects
  • Collaborate with anyone in the world
  • Clients can provide feedback on any file type with no installation required and without needing to sign up for an account
  • Draw directly on frames to keep all feedback in context


Who is ftrack Review for?

ftrack Review will increase efficiency for any content creator that needs to receive feedback and approval on a media project. Providing feedback via email is an inefficient process that wastes time and can often lead to confusion rather than clarity. Providing feedback directly in ftrack Review keeps all comments in context, which ensures everyone is on the same page and nothing is misunderstood.

The agnostic nature of ftrack Review means media is not limited to just video, but also still images, multi-page PDF, and many other file types. The ease of use makes ftrack Review suitable for any creative professional. From marketing teams fine tuning a campaign to filmmakers adding the final edits to a promotional video.

What video format do you recommend?

Almost any video format is accepted. When uploading the video, we convert it for easy playback. For maximum performance and quicker loading, we recommend uploading mp4 in 1080p at 4 Mbps bitrate. Higher bitrates and other formats are accepted, but keep in mind the connection speed of your collaborators for the best experience.

What media does ftrack Review accept?

ftrack Review supports a wide range of formats.

Image: jpg, jpeg, tiff, tif, png, webp, bmp, arw, nef, orf, rw2, ai, svg, eps, pdf, psd, dicom, cr2, dcm, gif

Video: 3g2, 3gp, asf, avi, drc, flv, m2v, m4p, m4v, m4v, mkv, mng, mov, mp2, mp4, mpe, mpeg, mpg, mpv, mxf, nsv, ogg, ogv, qt, rm, rmvb, roq, svi, vob, webm, wmv, yuv

Why does a review have an expiration date?

Adding an expiry date to a review is an added security measure to stop access to the review session once the date has passed. The review won’t be deleted once expired. The expiry date can be amended to any date to close or re-open the review for external collaborators to view.

How can I download media?

When setting up a review session, there is an option to allow downloads of the media in the details tab. Simply toggle Allow download of original media on or off. Any collaborator invited to the review session will then be able to download the original media from the review session. Access can be revoked simply by toggling the option off at any time.

How do I version up a file?

Uploading media with the same file name as previously used will automatically version up the asset. Newer versions will be stacked on top and the version number which is displayed below the media title will increase. Versions can be split to be treated as a separate version by clicking on the menu of the asset (the three dots on the top right) and selecting Unversion.

How can I remove project access for a team member?

Navigate to a project’s Home tab. Find the Project members section in the right-hand sidebar. Click the add people icon. In the window that opens you can toggle private access on and off. If private access is toggled “On” you can manage the individual access to the project for each team member.

Did this answer your question?