Read time: 3 min | Article Quick Search
ftrack is meant to be a platform for sharing files for review purposes, and it is not intended to be used as a pure cloud storage solution (like Dropbox) nor created to store all your working media files.
When you upload content to ftrack, both the original file and the transcoded version get uploaded using your default storage space. These files get transcoded for web playback, and the storage is supposed to be used for online review media files, thumbnails, and metadata.
In most cases, we don’t recommend sending huge files through ftrack, as the default storage would quickly fill up. As the best practice, we suggest publishing only the proxy versions through ftrack for review purposes and the original media via custom storage like Amazon S3, Dropbox or an FTP, etc.
This way, the transcoded file gets uploaded, but the original file remains local, and ftrack keeps track of where your working files are located.
Here you can read more about storage "locations" and storage scenarios.
For publishing, you can use ftrack Connect or a python script.
Article Quick search:
Frequently Asked Questions
How much storage do I get by default?
Currently, each ftrack workspace (yourcompany.ftrackapp.com) has a starting storage allowance of 250GB, with a 5GB individual file size limit. This individual file size limit is enforced by the cloud provider that we use to host the media (AWS)
Does the storage allowance account for the entire ftrack workspace or for each user?
Your storage allowance is shared across your entire ftrack workspace. Each user does not have their own allowance, but they contribute to the total storage allowance.
Can I purchase more storage space?
You can purchase an additional 500GB of storage space from the Accounts - Subscriptions page in System Settings. (Please note that access to this page is usually restricted to the account owner. See more information about account settings here.)
You can also receive an additional 250GB of storage space if you purchase the Review Pro add-on.
You can check the storage limits for our plans on our pricing page.
How do I know if I am running out of storage?
If you are close to exceeding your storage space, our system will send you a warning. The first warning is sent when you have used 70% of the total allowance and another one when your storage amount exceeds 90%.
You can also always check how much storage you have left from your ftrack site by going to System settings and opening the Storage usage.
What pieces of data consume the most storage space?
Versions and Components tend to be the files that consume the most storage space on ftrack.server (ftrack.server is the space that the storage usage data is calculated against).
How can I free up space?
If you want to free up some space, you can delete single pieces of project data or entire projects.
Please note: Deleting data will remove that data, it will not be recoverable, and the information will be gone. There is currently no Trash Can functionality within ftrack for users to recover their own deleted data.
For bulk-deleting old data:
The easiest way would be from the Project Versions tab, Shift selecting the versions you wish to delete (using filters to specify the search criteria) and delete them from there.
You can also use the API for bulk deleting. (This is something that needs proficiency with Python)
How can I archive a project?
As for project archival, you can hide a project by changing its status.
A lot of our current customers use this as a strategy to represent their archived projects. (And when you're ready, you can always delete them in the future)